1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding Side Panel Modding Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Cochise, 1 Dec 2005.

1. Cochise

Cochise What's a Dremel?

Hi folks. I need some advice. I've got an old handle case that I've done some minor mods to. Nothing fancy, just a window and some lights, a few cool fans. But my other side panel is bare. The colours I've gone with are blue and yellow. Blue lights n fans and yellow cable sleeves and ide cables. I need to know what i need to remove the paint from the panel and what to use to make a stencil?

I'm new to modding so please explain slowly :)

2. ARM

ARM Minimodder

3. The_Dude2040

The_Dude2040 What's a Dremel?

if your stripping paint ry to get some nitromors if you can. it's a thick gloopy stuff stips paint no problem. only problem it strips skin too. my advise never sit in a blob of the stuff. you'll know if you do.

but if you can't get nitromors, then as ARM says use any paint stripper. and if you use and paper a rought grade to get the paint off the thing then a smoother one just to give a nicer finnishes. or use the original paint as the base coat. i think you need something like 800 grit (wet dry paper. avalible from car part places) just to rougth the surface up.

4. Kobalt

Kobalt What's a Dremel?

Paint on a case never painted over is so thin a 400 grit sand paper will remove it effectively. Then go up in grits 600-800 after that you'll have bare metal ready for anything you like :thumb:

Edit: Errm! what he said :hehe: :D

5. Hellboy787

Hellboy787 What's a Dremel?

So How about if you wanted to paint anonized alumunuim or something like that?

6. Kobalt

Kobalt What's a Dremel?

Anodized can't be painted it's like a chrome process with acid and stuff but there's someone here that does it i think :worried: *looks left and right*

7. pingthepiratehobo

pingthepiratehobo What's a Dremel?