1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what do you all look like?

Discussion in 'General' started by Emzay, 26 Aug 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ArtificialHero

ArtificialHero We were just punking him sir!

Not interested in starting a flame war between skiers and snowboarders! I guess the thing is my only experience is that I have hurt myself as a result of cocky skiers who don't follow the rules of the slope (most importantly, check over your shoulder before you initiate a turn) = broken fingers, knee socket that has no sensation, cracked ribs, etc etc etc. Having worked at a ski slope for 5+ years I can say I've had a lot of experience of assholes on both sides of the divide, and it seems to me it's pretty much a case of a small minority of skiers and snowboarders who don't respect the whole other group which cause the animosity. These days I don't ride much outside park/offpiste so it's not such an issue. Last word on the subject - arrogant skiers of all ages who look down on snowboarders do seem to be more prevalant to me, but the asshole snowboarders I've met are WAY worse (we had to ban a kid once cuz he was so bloody cocky and he was just endangering everyone else on the slopes). I do respect everyone though, and for my part, when I'm riding I consider other people on the slope, and I can safely say I've never caused an accident that involved anyone except me. However, I do really find it difficult to have NO animosity towards skiers after some of the things that have happened to my mates because of inconsiderate skiers (prime example: friend of mine was a semi-pro and because of a skier just "hanging out" in the landing of a blind jump, was forced to land on his back rather than his board to avoid hurting the skier, and now has permanent back problems, and can never snowboard or skate again).

AH

p.s. guess I should post a pic!

[​IMG]