1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Need help enabling Gears of War 4 in co-op

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Pete J, 12 Jul 2020.

1. Pete J

Pete J Employed scum

Hi all,

I'm at my wits' end and I could really use someone's help.

A friend and I were looking forward to playing Gears 4 together today. The last time we played together, we played the original Gears of War without any problems, way back in 2008ish. So, we both logged in and sent an invite. Note we're using the MS store version (I think that's the only one).

Nothing happened. No messages, nothing to click.

Turns out we first had to click 'fix' in the xbox profile thing (done) and then add a 'port forwarding' thing to our routers. Now, despite being into PCs, I'm no networking expert. I've had a look around and found this:

https://portforward.com/gears-of-war-4/

I also managed to add a rule to my router:

[​IMG]

But when I check port 8000 at https://www.portchecktool.com/, it times out.

I feel annoyed that I can't solve this, but there's no easy step by step guide on how to achieve this.

On a side note, we're going to play GoW5 together in the future , but he's waiting for the Steam version to be on sale so we don't have to deal with this bullsh!t.

2. liratheal

liratheal Sharing is Caring

My first thought is why is the external port 8000?

A quick shufty at that thur link doesn't mention 8000.

My understanding is that both of your routers will be broadcasting the traffic via port 3074 TCP, and/or the UDP ports (88,500,3074,3544,4500) and upon arrival at yours, your routers firewall/NAT, such as it is, will say "No guv, ain't got no open port matching 3074" and poof goes the packet(s).

I can't tell what router you've got there, and I doubt screenshots of how I'd configure it on mine would help all that much.