1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics Help! Digital tachometer and thermometer with analog output

Discussion in 'Modding' started by shinobi_h2o, 19 Apr 2006.

1. shinobi_h2o

shinobi_h2o What's a Dremel?

Hi everybody,

It's both a honor and a pleasure for me to post in here, the forum from which the world's most famous casemods came.

I've posted this question in some forums I used to participate, joined some in my country (Brazil), and nobody could help me much.

I don't know much of electronics, but since I asked for help in the forums to now, I **almost** managed to create part of the circuit myself.
    Almost because, as I said, I'm not an expert in electronics, but I did find an integrated circuit which does about what I need.

What I want is to measure the RPMs of a fan (actually, 8 fans, but I guess a simple switch would do the trick) in one 'multmeter' and the temperature of 4 spots in another multmeter (again, a switch would be needed).

The thing is: I don't know how I would do the thermometer thing, and I found an IC (LM2907) that would convert frequency to voltage, but I got all messed up in the formulas from it's datasheet.

So is there anyone who managed to do a digital thermometer (by digital i mean using thermistors or any kind of sensors, with an output as 'voltage' for a multmeter), or a tachometer (also, outputting to a multmeter)?

Thank you all for your atention, and for the inspiration this forum brings me!

Best wishes,
    Guilherme H.

2. shinobi_h2o

*Bump!*

3. cpemma

cpemma Ecky thump

LM2907, you'll have to persevere with the datasheet, you'll need an adjustable pot to calibrate the output to match the fan RPM.

Vout = 12 x fin x C1 x R1 for a 12V supply, so pick a suitable C1 and tweak R1.

Points to remember,
    • the fan speed wire is often open-collector switching, so you'll need a pull-up resistor to 12V to get a nice square-wave input.