1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help With New PC

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Flixified, 15 Nov 2007.

1. Flixified

Flixified What's a Dremel?

Hey all, I was wondering if someone could help me.

I've just built my first ever custom PC, hooked everything up and powered it up but I get no signal through the monitor. I'm using a 600W (700W Peak) PSU from "Golden Field", an nForce 680i SLi, Quad Q6600 and a GeForce 7200GS (Just a cheap one until I can afford my 8800GT). When I power it up, all the fans work and the LED's all come on on the motherboard but I get no boot sound or anything like that. Tried connecting from the DVI out to my monitor and also tried the VGA on another monitor but I get nothing.

I don't know if there's something vital that I'm missing as this is my first build ever but I'm pretty sure I've got it all right.

Really would appreciate any help with this. Thanks. If you need any extra info just say so.

2. oasked

oasked Stuck in (better) mud

Are all of the parts connected properly - GFX, power cables etc?

That power supply does sound dodgy though (as in I've never heard of that brand before). If reseating everything doesn't work, I suspect the PSU is the culprit.

3. Flixified

I've done everything I can think of. Tried with only the necessities and still nothing. I've quadrupal checked all of the connections and they're all fine. I think you might be right about the PSU because it was a cheapo one from eBay. Can you recommend a good fairly cheap one that'll run these?

Also, one thing that worries me is that if I boot without any RAM it should beep right? Well it doesn't...I seriously hope the mobo isn't screwed.

*EDIT*

Here's the PSU that I have:
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=220161039091

4. MrC

MrC What's a Dremel?

I assume you remembered to connect the 12v connector?