1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motors Advice wanted for my first car purchase :)

Discussion in 'General' started by RickDawson, 18 Feb 2008.

1. RickDawson

RickDawson Minimodder

I have been having driving lessons since November 07 average of 3-4.5 hours a week, and my instructor (an independent, works for himself not an organisation like rac or aa) he was saying it was time I started thinking of what car to buy.
    I'm a total noob when it comes to technical talk about a car.

I have a budget of £3000 (can be slightly flexible on it)

I don't want a corsa (been suggested to me many a time)
    reason: My dad needs a 4x4 for towing and had a Isuzu Trooper. No problems whatsoever. It just kept going.
    He traded it for a Vauxhall Frontera (low floor 4x4) and he found many a problem with it (we suspected it may possibly be the dealer doing something dodgy). I also saw these problems, and we both really began to dislike it. He now drives a Land Rover Discovery mark2

I live a 10min walk from work (probably won't use it unless the weather is really bad), and will use it to go places if I want to go and get something etc around work.
    I have been bought a subscription/membership to the ramblers association, and will probably be driving to the start of walks on my days off.

I know nothing about car buying, so all advice is welcome. inc insurance, and all other costs.

I will be wanting to make some slight mods to it. changing the head unit to allow me to play my iPod (2nd gen 8gb nano) and I will be using my mobile for sat-nav.
    The techyness in me would want me to put in a CarPC and run all from there. The sensible in me says not to do that, and just use my iPod and mobile.

2. genesisofthesith

genesisofthesith complete spanner

For your budget I'd be looking for a mk1 focus or a mk3 mondeo.

3. Xen0phobiak

Xen0phobiak SMEGHEADS!