1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A/V Do I need a soundcard anymore?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Cleggmeister, 10 Nov 2009.

1. Cleggmeister

Cleggmeister Of reasonable knowledge...

Greetings!

Having just upgraded to i7 and having made redundant my Audigy 2 ZS (I now use the onboard motherboard soundchip), I'm going to experiment with another method of audio from my PC. I'll use this thread to post my findings and welcome others' input.

There are many uPnP digital streaming devices (media renderers) on the market, some of which are open source and will stream audio or "internet radio" from just about any "broadcast" over ethernet.

I'm fortunate in that I have access to many of these products as I work in the hi-fi field.

My plan is to ditch all onboard sound processing, and send the audio from my PC to my digital streamer over ethernet. If successful I know the audio performance will destroy what is currently available, regardless of whether I'm shooting zombies or listening to music. To date I've cracked the music issue by ripping my music to FLAC, installing a media server application (Asset uPnp or TwonkyMedia), and playing back via a Linn DS (other media renderers are available - Logitec Transporter, Soundbridge, Naim HDX, Meridian Sooloos, etc...). I can also play Spotify and LastFM through the PC/Linn by broadcasting these as an "internet radio" station, and having the Linn receive, decode and playback that stream.

Has anyone else used this method for their music and media, and how would you recommend getting audio from games etc... available over ethernet hence accessible to the Linn or other media renderer?

Many thanks,

Cleggy.

2. Da_Rude_Baboon

Da_Rude_Baboon What the?

Excuse my ignorance but how is this different from using a SPDIF connection with regards to gaming in particular?

3. Cleggmeister