1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Equipment Show us your gear!

Discussion in 'Photography, Art & Design' started by GregTheRotter, 25 Aug 2009.

1. Vers

Vers ...

No advantage...Really? AF and IQ stack up equally?

2. Cthippo

Cthippo Can't mod my way out of a paper bag

If only I could afford that sort of lens.

3. Pookeyhead

Pookeyhead It's big, and it's clever.

Image quality from the D7000 is much higher with a good lens, yes. I don't often use AF much anyway, but so far as I can tell... there's no real noticeable difference between the 2 in terms of AF.

Seriously.... which is why i'm selling it. It's 3 times the weight, twice the size, 6mp less, and I'm struggling to justify having in my kit. If I shot sports for a living I'd keep it because of it's continuous shooting speed (and supposedly better AF). I like the shallow DOF you can get with a full frame chip and that's probbaly the only thing I'll miss, but I can live with it until a decent D700 replacement arrives (or a D3x with 1080P).

Ahh.. I see. You aquire stuff over time... then upgrade, sell etc. I didn't just go out and buy it all in one shot :)

4. whisperwolf

whisperwolf What's a Dremel?

Well its a newish year so I've finally upgraded. The D50 has now been replaced by a lovely D7000 after finding it for what I think is a quite a reasonable price of£875. Now the wife's inherting the D50 as she wants a play with a bigger camera, and I'm back to eying up something better in the telephoto range than my sigma 70-300. Have yet another excuse to start walking at the weekends agains now.

5. GregTheRotter

GregTheRotter Minimodder

^ Longer, or faster? Nothing really beats the 70-300VR for price to performance. Unless you want to go the whole hog and go 70-200VR maybe mkI used?

6. GregTheRotter

GregTheRotter Minimodder