1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Development What kind of coder are you?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Dae314, 27 Apr 2011.

1. Dae314

Dae314 What's a Dremel?

Hello Bit-Tech developers!

I'm interested to know after reading this, what kind of coder do you consider yourself? You don't need to stick to the 5 archetypes defined in the article, but for myself I'll stick to two of them.

When I'm under pressure to meet some deadline or if I don't have enough time to do extensive testing I am a duct tape programmer. However, as long as I feel like there is time and I have enough motivation I am more comfortable being a theoretical programmer.

~Dae314

2. sparkyboy22

sparkyboy22 Web Tinkerer

Me = Duct Tape / Aspiring OCD

3. BentAnat

BentAnat Software Dev

Probably OCD/Duct Tape...

4. suenstar

suenstar Collector of Things

I'd say for the initial writing of the code I'd class myself as a Duct Tape programmer, I'm not bothered about how it looks as long as I know it'll work and it won't break easily. After I'm happy with the functionality, I turn into the OCD Perfectionist and make the code look clean and add all the general comments.

I'm trying to develop a happy medium where I do the organised code while I do the initial work but it's hard to change your ways after so many years of messy coding.

5. Modsbywoz

Modsbywoz Multimodder

Got to admit, I don't fit into just One.

I'm a perfectionist/OCD candidate. It not only effects my code either, everything has to be immaculate. However, if it's someone else's project that I'm not responsible for - Im a half-assed programmer. I'll get it done quickly, I have better things to be doing (my own projects)