1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Displays Time to replace monitor?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Igniseus, 3 Jul 2011.

1. jimmyjj

jimmyjj Minimodder

Guys,

Maybe you can help me with a question?

I have my trusty Syncmaster 226BW - a very worthy monitor in its time.

I am thinking about making the leap to a full HD IPS panel - either the Dell u2311H or the LG ips231p.

The thing is my Syncmaster still looks really nice and is in good condition. It is not like I have some crappy old 19" monitor that is years old.

I ran the Syncmaster through Lagom and it holds up quite well. Its major problem is the viewing angles which are pretty crappy. The Gamma is also slightly off, but I can not seem to adjust this correctly.

Am I going to really notice a huge difference moving to an IPS screen from my Samsung, or will it be more an incremental subtle thing?

Seeing as the LG is going for a song at the moment (under £150 on some sites), is it worth spending more on the Dell?

Cheers,

2. GoodBytes

GoodBytes How many wifi's does it have?

Logom test is very visual... it's just to get an idea.. not an actual "my monitor is calibrated".
    It also doesn't cover saturation or color limitation/reproduction, and back light bleeding (you will still have back light bleeding on an IPS panel... especially non-professional ones, but it should be less than your TN monitor, and only visible on a full screen black... a wide screen movie should not make it visible (well.. maybe at the "make me blind" brightness level). Side note: Back light bleeding on IPS panels are on the 4 corners. TN panel is where the light is.