1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice New Computer. Opinions?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Bituser, 30 Nov 2011.

1. Bituser

Bituser 64 Gigglebytes

Hi,

I have been working out what computer to build for a few months now. I think I might finally have come to a decision. Please tell me what you think

GPU - Radeon HD 6950
    MOBO - ASUS P8Z68-V LE
    Monitor - DELL U2312HM 23" IPS
    RAM - Kingston Hyperx 8gb (2x4gb) DDr3 1600
    Cooling - Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 13
    Case- Antec Dark Fleet DF-10
    PSU - Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750M 750W ATX12V Modular
    CPU - Intel Core i5 2500k
    HDD - Seagate Barracuda Green 2tb (HDD shortages, this is the best I can find at the moment).

It will be used for Photoshop, Gaming in 1920x1200/1080, Video Encoding and HD Movies.

2. MrGumby

MrGumby CPC 464 User

Id plump for a ssd something like the crucial 128gb m4 and maybe a gelid or better cooler.

3. MrGumby

MrGumby CPC 464 User

4. jtek

jtek What's a Dremel?

Micro atx?

I guess it's a good way to save some money and still get a good board, if you won't miss the extra slots.

5. MrGumby

MrGumby CPC 464 User

Probably one of the best z68 mobos unless you need multi graphics.

6. jtek

jtek What's a Dremel?

I thought they were all pretty much the same these days now that overclocking only involves the multiplier. What are the advantages? I had the p8z68-v pro in mind for my build.

Sorry to hijack the thread.

7. GoodBytes

GoodBytes How many wifi's does it have?

I think you got the wrong monitor, the one you pick can only go to 1920x1080. It can't do 1920x1200. You want the 24inch version, to go to that resolution.

8. Bituser

Bituser 64 Gigglebytes

I was originally going to get 24", but it saves a lot of money to get the 23".

What about the pro version of my motherboard? I couldn't find any differences except price.

@jtek No problem, it matters to me too.