Other Do you have autism?

Discussion in 'General' started by penryn 2 hertz, 15 Feb 2012.

1. Lovah

Lovah Apple and Canon fanboy

2. Sloth

Sloth #yolo #swag

It really makes one sound like an asshole, but I have to admit that this is more or less how I see things. It's just so common for people to self-diagnose or be professionally diagnosed after trying their best to meet the symptons that the moment I hear a claim of psychological condition I dismiss it until personal observation seems to confirm it. No, I'm not a professional myself, but sometimes all it takes is a little common sense to see when someone's exaggerating normal behaviour.

The mass drive to diagnose psychological conditions like they were candy has also made me a little hesitant about seeking professional advice/help for problems in life. A quick read of the Wikipedia article (as we all know, this now makes me a professional in the field) makes me seem to be a perfect case of social anxiety disorder. I don't want to be part of the trend and prescribed some pills to make it all go away or a fancy phrase to throw around, I want to better understand my problems so I can better deal with them rather than using them as a scapegoat.

3. supermonkey

supermonkey Deal with it

I knew a guy in college who once claimed that he was a recovering manic depressive paranoid schizophrenic prone to personality disorders. My first though was, "No, you're just an ass." He went on to list a few of his other disorders, but I forget what they were. I must have tuned out by that point.

I suppose I could have told him to his face that I didn't buy into his crap, then claimed that he just imagined the whole conversation. But, it was dinner time and I was hungry.

4. asura

asura jack of all trades