1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Portable So I bought a Microsoft Surface RT...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Nexxo, 5 Jan 2013.

1. Nexxo

Nexxo * Prefab Sprout – The King of Rock 'n' Roll

2. felix the cat

felix the cat Spaceman Spiff

Interesting as Ratings & Reviews is what I do for a living (IT Support for the company that creates the R&R interface for companies). Both John Lewis and Best Buy Reviews go through our moderators who catch 99%+ of all non authentic Reviews. I guess it must be scary to think that MS made a decent product! :p

/end of topic thoughts!

3. Guinevere

Guinevere Mega Mom

Even ignoring the appstore profit I wouldn't rely on teardown BOM pricing as a direct correlation to profit made per unit. Especially given the BOM pricing for an iPad 3 puts the per component pricing a bit higher than on an RT. There hasn't been a BOM estimate for the 4 yet. The reports are also 8 months apart and don't stack up against each other. Flash storage and DRAM is 50% more expensive for Apple than MS? I doubt it. Touch screen tech is more expensive for Apple? Again it's more likely that costs have simply reduced at the end of the year.

These estimates also can't shed any light on the actual prices paid per unit. Remember Apple can negotiate wonderful deals based on the size of their entire product lineup. You think Apple doesn't get a better deal on CNC worked aluminium than MS? You think they pay the same for gorilla glass as MS even if they're ordering x50 the volume? (Probably is something like that when you add the iPhone, MBP screens, touchpads and iMacs into the mix)

If Apple are selling a lot more than MS then either they're making them for a lower cost per unit than MS could negotiate pricing for, or MS will be making a surplus and have to sell them at a future reduced price. Simple economics.