1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

my custom Home Theatre PC: feedback requested

Discussion in 'Modding' started by crapito, 9 Oct 2003.

?

so what do you think?

1. excellent! can i buy it?!?!?!

4 vote(s)
    3.3%
  2. good job

36 vote(s)
    29.3%
  3. average

54 vote(s)
    43.9%
  4. my mom could do better...

29 vote(s)
    23.6%
  1. crapito

crapito What's a Dremel?

My HTPC webpage with pictures and additional info
    *edit: see the pics posted below*

about 2 months ago, i finished building my own custom Home Theatre PC. i'd like to get some opinions as to quality, value, how much you like it, the "wow!" factor, etc... if my HTPC is considered a success, i may build more and sell 'em (i already build and sell PCs to friends). btw: this is my first attempt at a clear Lexan case, so it isn't perfect, but noone who has seen it in person has ever called me on it. :)

here is the part list:
    motherboard: MSI K7N2-ISLR
    CPU: AthlonXP 1700+ (overclocked to 160x10.5=1680 ~2100 level)
    cooler: Volcano 9 w/cool mod
    RAM: 256mb PC2100 (overclocked to Mhz)
    HDD: Maxtor 80gb 7200rpm 2mb cache
    video: onboard (~GF4mx420 level)
    LAN: onboard nVidia 10/100
    DVD/CDRW: Lite-On 48x24x48x16
    power supply: Enlight 300w
    case: custom made clear Lexan

total cost to build: ~$525 according to prices @ Newegg as of 9/27 (the last time i checked)