1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cooling Control fan speed on an Asus z170i

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by silk186, 1 Jan 2019.

1. silk186

silk186 Derp

I have a Cooler Master cm storm with 2x200m (font and top) and 1x120mm (rear). Specs are in my signature.

The top fan is not connected due to a lack of motherboard fan headers.
    I'm currently running the i7-6700k at stock with a Noctua NH-L9i on it at the moment with a standard 25mm thick Noctua fan rather than the standard thin one.

I work with my computer next to me and even with editing my thesis that fans are annoyingly loud.
    What are my best solutions?

Connect the 2x200mm to the same header? will this cut their speed?
    Buy a fan controller?
    ASUS AI Suit?

After I have the money to pick up a pair of 8tb external drives to shuck and maybe a 4bay NAS I will be moving to an mITX case so I don't want to invest in new fans unless it is necessary and an affordable option.

I ran Sound Meter on my phone for 30 seconds with no other noise. The phone was placed in front of my keyboard. Average 36dB with a peak of 43dB. I know it isn't the most accurate.

2. RedFlames

RedFlames ...is not a Belgian football team

Option 4 - QFan Control [or whatever ASUS call it] in the BIOS?

3. silk186

silk186 Derp

Is that not enabled by default?

4. RedFlames

IIRC, no. But even if it is on by default, there are multiple profiles and/or scope to tweak things more to your liking. Stuff like turning fans off under a certain temp [that one definitely isn't on by default].

5. silk186

silk186 Derp

Thanks, I will look into this more.

Is it possible to adjust these setting from Windows?
    I was able to do this with my Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3.

Last edited: 1 Jan 2019
  6. bawjaws

bawjaws Multimodder