Project: Transparent Tower 95% DONE UPDATE

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Longtalltechsan, 5 Jan 2005.

1. Longtalltechsan

Longtalltechsan What's a Dremel?

Howdy everyone. I am a newbie to modding and have been perusing these boards for quite awhile. After seeing everything here, I knew I didn’t want to have a stock computer, at least not the case. So I began by cutting a good size window in the side of my case. At first I was happy with the results but then realized quickly that this is something most everyone does when it comes to modding. So I started trying to think of a unique idea for a case. After picking up the issue of CPU with the Orac by G-gnome on the cover, I knew I wanted to go with a clear, acrylic case. But I didn’t want to copy G-Gnome’s case. I only used it for inspiration to make my own clear case.

Now I had to come up with a design that seemed pretty unique. So the following is what I came up with. Some of you may recognize it as I posted it awhile back for feedback. I have made a few minor design changes since creating the model, but you get the overall idea.

[​IMG]

A little about it now. The overall height is around 26” tall by 14” deep and 14” wide. Everything clear is ¼” acrylic from Home Depot. I am thinking of calling it Transparent Tower, but that is still up in the air right now.

To start, here is a pic of my sheet of acrylic goodness.

[​IMG]

I also have received some of the parts for my computer, like cable sleeving, a white LED fan for the power supply (have 2 120mm white LED fans on the way), and round silver IDE cables.

[​IMG]

I also went ahead and purchased a bunch of the thumbscrews to use on the case as well as the acrylic rods, adhesive, hinges and door handle.

[​IMG]

Also on the way are a Bulgin Vandal Resistant switch, the 2 fans I mentioned earlier, and a couple of acrylic accessories from Tap Plastics.