Linux Low spec laptop and linux

Discussion in 'Software' started by Almightyrastus, 16 Jan 2005.

1. Almightyrastus

Almightyrastus On the jazz.

Hey guys, I am quite new to using linux, well using it on a system of my own, I use it a little at university for programming a motorola microcontroller and have played around with Knoppix a little from time to time.
    I have managed to get hold of a fairly low spec laptop with the aim of running linux on it so I can get a feel of how everything works and was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on what version of linux would best suit the specs of this laptop.

The specs are:
    Celeron 400
    64Mb RAM
    5Gb (I think, may be around 4Gb) HDD

I would like the option to use it with a wi-fi card at some point but have not got as far as buying yet.

I have Red Hat 9, Mandrake (not sure what version, fairly new though) and Gentoo V2004.2 downloaded.

Ordinarily I would not be asking this sort of thing but with the specs of the laptop, mainly the low memory, I thought it might be best to get a bit of advice first.

Many thanks in advance.

2. Go4t

Go4t i

if you really want to get a feel for linux then theres nothing better than gentoo
    there are some downsides to gentoo like for instance it takes forever to install with a slow connection (been there done that about 5 times)
    it can be a real pain in the ass to get working but it is great when it does
    you shouldnt have any problems adding a wifi card later

3. trigger

trigger Procrastinator

Debian is another good one, especially for older hardware, should run happily with yuor 64MB. I fear Red Hat and Mandrake wont be happy with less than 128MB.

4. SeT

SeT What's a Dremel?