1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

7,200RPM VS 10,000RPM

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Sve, 25 May 2008.

1. Sve

Sve What's a Dremel?

Hi, Im fairly new to all this computer stuff...hence why I registered here (among other places) to try to learn as much as I can. So please forgive me if I ask a stupid question. :D Im getting ready to buy my first serious computer ( to me anyway :p) and im looking for a little help with a couple questions I have. First, 7,200 VS 10,000 both 16MB caches. From what ive read ( this computer is JUST for gaming...right now anyway) if you have the ram to support a 7,200RPM speed, its really not a huge deal. Im planning on going with 4GB of Patriot if I go with the 500GB 7,200RPM Hard drive. If I go with the 360 GB 10,000RPM Im looking at just 2GB. My main question is, is the money better spent on the Hard drive or the Ram? Am I going to see a huge performance increase one way or the other?

The second question I had is about Video Cards. I plan on using the 9800GTX and was wondering if its worth the money to run a dual setup? Thanks in advance for any bits of information you guys got for me!

Josh

2. chrisb2e9

chrisb2e9 Dont do that...

I only run one screen but most people with two say its well worth the money to do so.
    as for a hard drive, you wont see a difference in games with a faster drive so get the bigger one.
    and if you are getting a 64bit os, and not a 32bit one, get 4gb of ram. if you are getting a 32bit os, then get the 2gb of ram.

If you do get 4gb of ram though, dont get 4 1gb sticks, get 2 2gb sticks.

3. Sve

Sve What's a Dremel?

Thanks Chris for the info. I forgot to add my last question to my above post. (SRY!) Ive been trying to decide between a Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16GHz 6MB Cache and a Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz 12MB Cache. Any thoughts about these two processors? Thanks!

4. nigelleg

nigelleg What's a Dremel?