1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding Advice for a newbie modder [pics!]

Discussion in 'Modding' started by pendragon, 11 Nov 2006.

1. pendragon

pendragon I pickle they

Okay. so. I'm quite new at this 'serious' modding stuff. So I'm not sure the best methods for some of these things and I'm not terriblely well versed in the best tools needed for each job so I'd appreciate if one of you mod-guru's here can give me some advice here.

first thing to note: I'm planning on starting very small and simple, as I see that as the best way to do this and not get overwhelmed..

second: the only parts I've bought sofar for the new rig are the powersupply and case ...both were quite cheap after rebate so I feel they will be fine to experiment modding on since I'm new at this.

[​IMG]
    Here's the case that I bought. As you can see there is no side window. I think I'd like to cut out a side window in some form or another.

[​IMG]
    Here's the side panel that I'd like to work on... as you can see there are two vent holes in it ..this poses a question for me... do I cut a rectangular window to the right of the vent holes? or if I do what I originally wanted to do, and cut a much larger window that intersects the vent holes? ...I'm not sure what I'd do about cleaning up the cut-into vent holes if i did that...

[​IMG]
    front of the case.. comes with a silly plastic hinged door to hide the 5.25 bays... it comes off easy so i dont plan on leaving it on there

[​IMG]

pulling the front off you can see the motherboard cords as well as a nice long white cable that feeds down to a little I/O block on the right side of the casefront ... neat idea, but I'd like to move this I/O block to a better location more towards the top of the case like some of the Antec cases I've seen before ...however I dont see any obvious place to put it

[​IMG]