1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Another new guy to modding || Updated July 7th

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Xipher, 23 May 2004.

1. Xipher

Xipher What's a Dremel?

HI all :D, I have been chatting a little bit in here, not much. I am kinda new to the whole modding thing, although I have been following it alot, I haven't actually done much of it. Well, I am getting started with a pretty simple one now, so I hope to get some things under my belt so to speak. I would also like to say sorry if the pics are kind of slow, the're not that big, but they are being hosted by my ISP. If needed I will host them some where else.

Basic Idea of the mod is to do some of the basics. I will be adding 2 120mm fans in the top and bottom of the case, doing a side window, and try to build a simple on/off fan controler. I am starting off with a Chieftec Matrix mid tower that has the front USB and Firewire ports on it.
    I have gotten a couple things out of the way, like getting the case, and the 120mm fans.

The 120mm fans I am using are big Delta's, they can push alot of air. They won't be on very offten, only if things start getting a little to hot in the case.

[​IMG]

Now, this thing takes 3 Amps to start :jawdrop:, so I am thinking about having a dedicated 12V power supply just for that, and the other fans. One nice thing about that is I can control all the fans (not including the one in the main psu) without turning on the computer:clap:

Now, I already added the switch that will turn these 2 beasts on

[​IMG]

Here is a close up shot of that

[​IMG]

and with the cover up

[​IMG]

You probably get the idea of why I chose this style of switch :hehe:

I also got the Power Supply this past thursday, I had some customiztions done to it adding black connectors every where, which I think adds a little to it.

[​IMG]