1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apple Apple in the workplace?

Discussion in 'Software' started by OneSeventeen, 1 Feb 2007.

1. OneSeventeen

OneSeventeen Oooh Shiny!

I'm an IT Admin now, and I'm getting ready to start replacing all of our computers. Being fairly open minded I looked into both Dell and Apple. (Sorry, Linux just isn't ready for end users or network admins that support end users.)

With Dell I can get an average machine for about $700 that includes keyboard, mouse, and monitor. (1GB of RAM, 80GB SATA HDD, but an old P4 3GHz.. no dual core here :( but I could probably upgrade to core2duo for about $150)

I can also get a dell server with over 1TB of usable RAID 5 with a hot spare as a rackmount server with hot-swappable drives.

Also, all of the PCs come with a 3 year on-site warranty (if a part goes bad they come here and replace the part the next day.) which is included in the $700 fee.

I don't know enough about XServes, but when I tried to configure one similar to the Dell (with equivalent hardware warranty/replacement parts) it would cost me closer to $7,000 and wouldn't be true RAID 5, nor would it have a Hot Spare.

So I'm wondering if there is a way to have similar performance, features, and reliability with Apple servers and desktops as I can have with Dell products without being near twice the price?

(Keeping in mind if I were in the market for a new computer I'd be getting a MacBook. I prefer Apple by far for my own use, but working for a not-for-profit makes it hard to justify ever recommending Apple in the workplace.)

Any tips? Am I missing something?

2. Firehed

Firehed Why not? I own a domain to match.