1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tips Best lens for video recording

Discussion in 'Photography, Art & Design' started by Lankius Maximus, 16 Aug 2011.

1. Lankius Maximus

Lankius Maximus Minimodder

I have only recently gained an interest in photography and as a beginner I have treated myself to a Canon 600D. Its mainly used for family photos however I have also been impressed with the video capabilities when I been away on holiday.

Does anyone have any suggestions for the best lens set up for when recording. Preferably something that requires minimal focus and ease of use would be a benefit.

Cheers

2. Jumeira_Johnny

Jumeira_Johnny 16032 - High plains drifter

Honestly? There are 2 answers here, neither of which sound very nice, but are true.

1. The best lens is the one you have.

2. If you have to ask, then chances are #1 is true.

Long answer: What are you shooting, in what lighting, and in what style? is it outdoor documentary style? is it fast paced action? low light? people? set scenes where you can prefocus? are you using a focus pulling rig? are you recording sound separately so that the lens noise isn't noticeable?

If those sorts of questions make no sense to you, then #1 is the correct and most useful answer.

M7ck likes this.
  3. Lankius Maximus

Lankius Maximus Minimodder

Cheers for the honesty johny, exactly the type of answer I was looking for. I will just mess around with the current set up for now.

4. October

October Mariachi Style

Personally (being someone who makes money from shooting video on a DSLR) I would say very few of those questions actually matter, apart from the lens noise one perhaps but that's only if you plan on autofocusing, protip: don't.