1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Best Upgrade Path - New PCs for Office, 2x for Kids, and a VR/HTPC

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by d_stilgar, 5 Nov 2023.

1. d_stilgar

d_stilgar Old School Modder

My PC situation is weird. I've been deferring upgrades to my computers for several years. Here's the current lineup of PCs:
    1. I have a computer in my home office. It's one of the 300 Valve Steam Machines from 2013. I've used it as my main gaming rig, but it's almost a decade old now and has been upgraded as far as the current motherboard will allow. As a point of hardware preservation, I don't want to upgrade it further. I'm actually debating putting the new Steam OS on it, but that's a different discussion. The CPU is an i7 4790 and it has a Titan Black in it. It's still capable, but it's really showing its age. Some games complain a bit much and it's unstable in some newer games (Zoo Tycoon, for instance, will crash eventually every time it gets booted). This machine pushes two 1080p monitors. I also use it for various kinds of work, the most demanding being 3D modeling and rendering, and some infrequent video editing.
    2. The other rig I use regularly is an HTPC/VR rig in my basement. I run Kodi most of the time or play VR games. It has an i5 9600k and a GTX 1080. It's showing its age as well. It's connected to my 4k projector.
    3. My third machine is a 2022 Razer Blade 15 with an i7 12800H, RTX 3070 Ti. I had some weird shakeup stuff happen at work and I found myself needing to get a laptop quickly and start my own business. Then things changed and I'm using my old macbook for work. This leaves me with this Razer laptop that I'm not really using at all.
    Those are my three current rigs. Here are my needs/goals.