1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Notebooks build a laptop?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by spectre456, 6 Jul 2008.

1. spectre456

spectre456 What's a Dremel?

i was wondering if i coud get some guidance on this. my aunt asked if i could build her a laptop since i just recently build a great gaming machine. her needs are rather modest:

internet browsing
    word processing
    the occasional movie (integrated graphics should do, right?)
    i also think she wants to run vista, but i'll probaly put xp on since it runs smoother. vista capable will just be an upgrade option

im completely new to this and would like to know if its even possible to build this and where i can get the parts. (i hear some sites sell chassis but not openly).

her budget is about £400-£500 if possible and i'd like to make it slightly future proof for her eg. extra ram slots.

any help would be appreciated thanks :thumb:

2. tank_rider

tank_rider What's a Dremel?

home building a laptop isn't as easy as a desktop and for £400-500 you should be able to get a pretty good core 2 duo laptop with 3GB of ram and a decent sized hard disc. The one thing missing from your spec is the monitor size which will dictate the price of similar specced machines, which also goes hand in hand with the weight etc.

3. I'm_Not_A_Monster

I'm_Not_A_Monster Hey, eat this...

the best you can do is buy a barebones laptop (everything except hard drive, ram, expansion cards, etc.) and install the stuff yourself.

do the math first though, it might be better to just buy a Dell with ubuntu installed on it.

(because seriously, ubuntu is fun)

4. Glider

Glider /dev/null

Just get a Dell...

5. DaveVader

DaveVader Fast Action Response Team