1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Development C# - classes

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Journeyer, 15 May 2012.

1. Journeyer

Journeyer Minimodder

Help!

I'm currently studying development in ASP .NET and C#, and I'm due to send in a report.
    In this report I have to design a website for a fictional company, and include a bit of logic that has to run in helper classes. Designing the website, getting productlistings coded and such is not a problem, but my problem is e-mail validation.

So, the task at hand is to code a bit of logic that will check if an e-mail address entered is entered according to the valid format (xxxxxx...@xxxxx.xx(x)). Coding this using regex is not the problem, however the problem is getting the site to invoke the helper class at all.

The task specifies that I have to run the logic in a helper class, and not in the code-behind file. I have been banging my head against various hard surfaces to no avail, and google has not been able to help me either.

This is the code in my helper class file:

namespace newsSubscription
    {
    public class emailValidation
    {
    public void Button2_OnServerClick(object sender, EventArgs e)
    {
    string email = subscribeNews.Text;
    Regex regex = new Regex(@"^([\w\.\-]+)@([\w\-]+)((\.(\w){2,3})+)$");
    Match match = regex.Match(email);
    if (match.Success)
    {
    emailValidation.InnerHtml = "Great Success!";
    }
    else
    {
    emailValidation.InnerHtml = "Did not compute!";
    }
    }
    }
    }