1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Cable fitting help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by monkeytennis, 7 Sep 2009.

1. monkeytennis

monkeytennis What's a Dremel?

Ok guys, I'm not scared to admit that I need some help so I appreciate any guidance you can give me. This is my first build and I don't want to do anything wrong so I'm in no rush. Let me start with components and how far I've got.
    Its an i7 920 onto a P6T Deluxe V2 with 6GB Corsair Dominator Ram, going inside an Antec 1200 (Jeez its big!) which is powered by an Antec CP850 PSU. I will be using the hard drive and optical drive from another PC for now as I havn't received my new ones yet and also I don't have an OS for it yet. The only downside is that the connectors for these are IDE (I think?) I also don't have a GPU yet as I still havn't made my mind up wether to go big now or wait for the DX11 cards, can I run it without one? Purely to test everything is working ok so far.

So anyway, this is how far I have got. I have fitted the CPU and heatsink, the Ram, mounted the MoBo and fitted the PSU. All straight foward so far. I have connected the main power lead and the smaller one at the top left of the board. Are these the only two power supplies to the board? (I am reading the manual but I am still not completely sure). I am now trying to hook up all the fans ( the heatsink fan is done) but I am unsure how to. There are two 3 pin connections on the right of the board, one for power and one for Chassis fans, but I don't have 3 pin connectors from the PSU. I can see connectors that fit the fans, but nothing to the board. Sorry if I sound a bit dense but as I said, I need help! Thankyou for any input:D.

2. Slizza

Slizza beautiful to demons

The fan pins on the board are for plugging the fans into and not the PSU.
    If you don't have any extra fans to plug in to them then leave it.