1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Equipment Carl Zeiss Distagon T* 2.8/21

Discussion in 'Photography, Art & Design' started by Vers, 19 Sep 2008.

1. Vers

Vers ...

If you're a professional landscape or architectural photographer (or wanna be with change to drain) be sure to check out this awesomeness. For those of you unfamiliar with the history of this lens, look it up ;)

[​IMG]

2. akpoly

akpoly What's a Dremel?

Landscape photography, sure.

Architectural? No. (I know because I'm an architect, well designer, not legally allowed to call myself one until I get my license) We prefer medium-large format cameras because of the ability to change the angle of the lenses and the amount of detail you will get. Otherwise (as seen in another thread on here) you would have to perspective control the image in PS. Which in all honesty just sh*ts. If you're using a D/SLR, grab a PC lens. It will let you get shots you normally couldn't achieve with these non-tilt-shift lenses.

The photographer who started the "architectural photography" niche Julius Schulman (my professor was an apprentice of his) spoke at my previous school and still uses large format cameras exclusively for paid work.

Correction: You can get away with it on 1 story buildings because there isn't alot of perspective, but once you get anything higher you really need your PC lenses.

3. Firehed

Firehed Why not? I own a domain to match.

Maybe not architectural in the strictest sense of the word, but I can imagine a wide and fairly fast lens faring quite well when it comes to indoor work, such as for real estate property photos and such.

4. akpoly

akpoly What's a Dremel?

Sure I could see it for real estate use, just not published work. And sure it can be used for indoor work as long as the interior volume isn't very high. Otherwise you start to get converging lines if your sensor plane isn't parallel to the walls.