1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Memory compatibility issues, need help

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by rmagro, 28 Apr 2010.

1. rmagro

rmagro What's a Dremel?

hi, I am a complete novice when it comes to computers and am trying to build my own at the moment.

However I think I have fallen at the first hurdle. I installed everything into my case this afternoon and when I turn it on nothing comes on the screen, the fans spin etc but there is nothing onscreen.

I have an MSI 790fx-gd70 which has a little LED readout which says d3. It starts at FF then d1 and then finally stays on d3. With a little googling everyone seems to think it's to do with the memory, but I don't exactly know what.

I think it might be a compatibility issue but don't know. I don' want to change my RAM if I don't have to. I have a single stick of 4GB Kingston Valueram (and it is in the correct slot) To be precise the code is KVR1066D3D4R7S/4G

I have a phenom x2 550 processor.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

2. thehippoz

thehippoz What's a Dremel?

if it's your first build.. I'd take it out of the case to eliminate grounding issues and stick the board and everything on a table

next thing you want to make sure you have all the power connectors plugged in including the 8 pin.. now with just the video card and drive installed- see if you can get her to boot to the bios

from there you can put it all back into the case- make sure the standoff's are positioned correctly underneath.. hook everything back up and you should be fine

if you have problems on the table, you could narrow it down even further with extra parts.. but since you don't have those, have to rely on the codes http://www.ami.com/support/doc/AMIBIOS8_Checkpoint_and_Beep_Code_List_PUB.pdf

looks memory related.. but eliminate any grounding issues first

3. rmagro

rmagro What's a Dremel?