1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linux distro advice and some questions

Discussion in 'Software' started by JCG, 13 Apr 2007.

1. JCG

JCG What's a Dremel?

the sitaution:
    I've bought a thinclient, she adorable. Nice and quite (no fans). A geode processor at 233 MHz, and a 96 MB ram and a 40 GB harddisk. So it won't be a heavy distro.

What I want to do is make a torrent PC of it, and I must be able to controle it over LAN (over internet would be nice but not necessary) because I don't have the room for a extra monitor key board and mouse. And I must be able to get the file from it to a windows XP computer. So what distro should I use? I've found DSL and Puppy Linux. But I'm a linux noob so please help me.

And now for getting Linux to run on it. The trouble is that it doesn't have a cd-rom or diskette drive. I have spare cd-rom to plug into it, but it only has one molex plug. I could use a molex plug from another computer but that seems a bit risky to me.

So I thought, would it be possible to instal Linux on the harddisk while it's in another computer and then plug in the the thinclient. I know Windows throws a hissy fit if you try something like that, but i'm hoping Linux is able to stand waking up in a completly different computer.

2. Spaceraver

Spaceraver Ultralurker

Getting linux on your harddrive should be easy. You need to make a partition it can install from or remove it from the machine and put in a regular desktop. Unplug all other harddrives just in case. install and drop back in. Linux is adaptive beyond your imagination. As for distro, DSL is a good choice, I have it on a USB key or just run it directly off CD. That isn't a viable option in your case tho. Other option is to install a Debian based distro, the APT package manager is excellent. sudo apt-get update&&apt-get update using PuTTY keeps your system maintained..