Electronics DIY scopes and logic analyzers?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by nleahcim, 24 Jul 2005.

1. nleahcim

nleahcim What's a Dremel?

Hi - I'd really like to get a scope and a logic analyzer. I'm a poor college student in debt to his knees, so I really don't want to buy them... So - I'd like to try to make them. I found this: http://www.xs4all.nl/~jwasys/old/diy2.html - 8 channel logic analyzer at up to 1Mhz. Prettty sweet, eh? Has anybody seen anything better? What about any DIY scopes? I remember a while back somebody posted some screencaps of a scope he was making with a PIC. Anything like that around? I've also heard of scopes using gameports (joystick ports) - but being that my lappy doesn't have one of those, that isn't of much interest to me.

2. Xiachunyi

Xiachunyi What's a Dremel?

I used this to calibrate my sound generator. It is limited to the souncard's ADC and at the mercy of your input signal condition but it is free.

There is this schematic as well but building it from scratch would most likely cost more than purchasing one second-hand.

3. NoMercy

NoMercy What's a Dremel?

I was working on a home made signal generator which would in theory allow me to generate waveforms to what I think was around 90MHz, but getting a real job (tm) put pay to that little project (The idea being if I could take it into university to calibrate it against a scope, and then have something I can test a home made scope against).

For a 500KHz USB scope project this might be worth a look:http://www.eix.co.uk/Ethernet/USB/Welcome.htm

4. mandy_modded

mandy_modded Minimodder

5. davew

davew What's a Dremel?