1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Networks Fiberoptic Networking,

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by RClivin, 24 Aug 2004.

1. RClivin

RClivin What's a Dremel?

Guys I feel Stupid, LOL
    Ok,
    I work at a Fiberoptic Supplier and can get fiberoptics for cost, I want to set up a Fiberoptic network in the office but have no idea how I would do it,
    So any help would be appricated,
    PS LOL The boss is my father so if any of you need fiberoptic products gimmie a PM Ill Hook you up LOL :naughty: :thumb:

2. play_boy_2000

play_boy_2000 ^It was funny when I was 12

Have a peek at this
    http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/optical/index.html

Im no expert on fiber optic networking, but iirc, fiber optics are usually run between routers and possibly switches. If you have that big of a network where Fiber is required then go for it, but other wise a gigabit connection between routers is all you need imo.

Edit: just looking at some of the fiber products.... 960 Gb/s :jawdrop:
    just amagine the price tag on that?!

2nd edit: Sorry to burst you bubble, but i don't think theres such a thing as end user optical networking, Optical networks are used to carry large amounts of traffic and unless you have 1000+ PCs on your network, i suggest dropping the idea. Get gigabit products and setup Vlans where required.

Last edited: 24 Aug 2004
  3. MrWillyWonka

MrWillyWonka Chocolate computers galore!

960GBps? You'll fill up an entire HDD in seconds (if it wrote at a high speed)

But I have seen on TV two computers connected through fibre-optics, but it costs a eck of a lot per metre!

4. play_boy_2000

play_boy_2000 ^It was funny when I was 12

its Gb/s (around 120 GB/s) and its a product designed to connect very large city wide networks.

MrWillyWonka: Do they make fiber network cards or were they using a fiber to ethernet thing-a-mah-jig?

5. Hamish

Hamish What's a Dremel?

pointless