1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First time scratch build - could use a little advice

Discussion in 'Modding' started by bennylava, 20 Nov 2020.

1. bennylava

bennylava What's a Dremel?

Hi all, new here. I'm new to case modding but I've always wanted to try my hand at building a case. I have several questions, so I think maybe it's best if I just number them:

1. What's the best I can do with standard aluminum angle from Lowes/Home Depot? I'm considering building the "frame" of the case out of 90 degree aluminum that you can buy from one of the big box stores. Good idea, or bad idea? Would I run into any trouble if I did this? Would it necessarily look somehow... ugly? Or is there a way to make it look good? And are there any pics of a case made this way? Perhaps someone here has done it at some point.

2. Where's the least expensive place to order sheet aluminum in the thickness needed for a PC case? (and steel)

3. Should I use aluminum, or should I use steel? I like the idea of aluminum because it's lighter. And I don't know why, but it just seems cooler somehow. It does dent/scratch easier though.

4. Where can I buy the proper... extrusion to make panels sit flush? This will depend on the thickness of the panels of course. If you're familiar with extrusion, you may have seen those 90 degree ones that have a lip on the outside. One lip on each side of it. That way, once you've cut it and made it into a frame, any panels will sit flush inside the lip. This would give the case a more professional look. Granted you matched the thickness of the panel, with the depth of the lip it's going to sit in, of course.