1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PSU Honest PSU sizing?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jodah175, 1 Oct 2014.

1. jodah175

jodah175 Wannabe Modder

So, currently rebuilding my gaming rig, and every psu calculator recommends a 1000w psu. Before I get too far ahead of myself. Current Specs.

FX-4100 Zambezi (soon to be a FX-8350)
    XFX DD R9 270X (adding a second down the line for Crossfire)
    8gb DDR3-1600 Corsair Vengeance (will upgrade to 16gb dual channel kit later on)
    ASUS M5A97 LE 2.0
    Samsung 840 EVO 120gb (really shoulda splurged for a larger ssd >_<)
    WD Green 2tb
    ASUS DVD-r/w

this system will eventually be watercooled as I've never done watercooling before and It's something I'd love to try. Don't care that it's not a "high-end" system and "not worth it". Doing it because I can. But I digress.

As stated earlier, every psu calculator suggests upwards of a 1000w psu, which if true, I'll go with the RM1000. I recently picked up pcgamer where they had the LPC components listed. That thing has 4 titans in it, watercooling and plenty of other power hogging items; but uses a 1200w psu.

Are these psu calculators over-stating power needs or am I completely missing something? :wallbash: and yes, i used search, but my search-fu is apparently weak. >_<

2. TheMadDutchDude

TheMadDutchDude The Flying Dutchman

You don't need anywhere near a 1kW unit. You'll be fine with a 750W unit, easily.

jodah175 likes this.
  3. jodah175

jodah175 Wannabe Modder

Thank you! Should I go 850w considering I want to watercool down the line? I figure maybe go a bit larger now instead of finding out the hard way I can't run my pump and fans off the psu.

and for those wondering, yes, it's been a while (like 4 years) since I built a pc. XD

4. shinji2k

shinji2k Minimodder