1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A/V How on earth do I get 5.1 over optical?

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Idioteque, 6 May 2010.

1. Idioteque

Idioteque Telephasic Mongoose

Hi there,

I've jsut bought myself a Speedlink 7.1 sound card http://www.speed-link.com/?p=2&cat=17&pid=21069&paus=1

Hooked it up to my Onkyo TX-SR 507 Amp over optical, set up as SPDIF out, and the best I can get out of it is the front left, front right and center being on separate channels. I've tried with Arcsoft Total Home Theatre, playing a bluray (DTS audio) but to no avail, however, when I select the SPDIF output from this software nothing is output...

Can you suggest anything? I'm a total noob as this is my first 5.1 amp and unfortunately doesn't allow full analog 5.1 sound as it doesn't have the inputs, Only Coaxial or optical spdif and stereo audio. Well, HDMI too, but my Graphics card doesn't support it.

2. bulldogjeff

bulldogjeff The modding head is firmly back on.

I've found with my sound card, that for some daft reason it'll only run in 2 channel unless I have the sound effects enabled...front room, toilet etc...So as it stands, I can now listen to my music in 5.1 in a manhole...i doubt if this helps you much but it's something to try

3. Idioteque

serves me right for buying a £20 sound card... should've gone for an asus xonar, at least they have decoding on card...

4. Cerberus90

Cerberus90 Car Spannerer

That's most likely because its stereo music.

So with the effects enabled, its able to put sound out through the other speakers, but even then its just a copy sent to the rears.

My onboard sound is the same.

My Creative Audigy 2 ZS that I've just put back in my PC however, natively playsback through all speakers.

bulldogjeff likes this.
  5. VictorianBloke

VictorianBloke Man in a box