1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Planning Ideas for combined server/gaming rig - Help wanted! (pics)

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Stig, 21 Dec 2008.

1. Stig

Stig What's a Dremel?

Hello all. This is my first post, but I've been snooping around these boards for a long time now. I'm about to build myself 2 new machines - an i7 based, watercooled gaming rig, and a file server. I've never done any serious modding before, but I've recently been inspired. So, I'd like some input on what you think I should do. Keep in mind that this is my first time, so I don't want to push myself too hard on the first time out.

My idea right now is to combine the two rigs into one using a UFO Duality case. If I go that route, I'd like some ideas on how I could make it look interesting. I'd like to maximize room for the server side of things, because it will start with 6-8 HDD's and eventually have up to 16 (though after looking at the case a bit more 12 is probably a more reasonable number to shoot for).

So, any input/ideas/resources/inspiration would be awesome. Thanks much!

I'm working on getting some sketchup mockups done, but I haven't used it for a long time, so it's taking me a while to get back up to speed :)

EDIT: Now, after a bit more consideration, there is another option I'd explore but only if some kinds souls would be willing to help. Custom fabrication (could be through MM or if anyone has a recommendation). I would need help getting the plans drawn up, and working through measurements/requirements with someone. But if somebody here thinks my idea sounds interesting and has these skills to offer I'd love to work with you!

Last edited: 23 Dec 2008
  2. bigsharn

bigsharn Officially demotivated