1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Infra Red serial port kit

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Bursar, 18 Nov 2002.

1. Bursar

Bursar What's a Dremel?

Does such a device exist?

Here is the dream device I'm after :D

Comes in two parts. One part connects to the serial port on the back of the PC, and the other connects to the serial port on the device.

Both parts are capable of sending and receiving data (so for instance, you could hook up a modem using it).

Would support upto 115.2 K/bits.

Perferably it doesn't require any tricky software to use, but drivers for XP are fine.

Range isn't much of a problem, I'd be able to provide it with line of sight between the two halves, and they'd be no more than a couple of feet apart.

So, does anyone know of a product that provides those features? I've been seraching on Google, but haven't come up with much.

I'm an electronics novice, so I think building such a device would be beyond me, but if the parts were cheap enough and the instructions clear enough, I could be tempted to give it a go.

Cheers.

2. ZapWizard

ZapWizard Enter the Mod Matrix

I would ask Meblin about this

3. Meblin

Meblin Supposed IR God!

Will comment later when I have a second :D

Meblin

4. Bursar

Bursar What's a Dremel?

Woohoo! :D Does this mean you know of a device that does the trick?

5. Meblin

Meblin Supposed IR God!

Well maybe :naughty:

You can put an IrDA connector on your motherboard (if it supports IrDA) and it will talk to other IR devices such as mobile phones, other computers, etc...

I'm not sure of the data transfer rate but don't think it's as fast as you are looking for.

If you use IrDA you don't need any other software. What is the second device?

I haven't seen a serial device that can do this, but that doesn't mean there aren't any. Bluetooth may be a device that may work.

Meblin

6. Bursar

Bursar What's a Dremel?