1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Networks Looking for a good switch

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ivan2740, 5 Jan 2003.

1. ivan2740

ivan2740 What's a Dremel?

My lan crew is looking for a switch that has 16-24 (10/100)ports and has preferably two gigabit ports.

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduct.asp?description=17-111-014

Is this a good one, and would it have everything we need? I'm new to switches so I don't know if its missing stuff because it seems rather cheep for having gigabit on it.

2. vi-kata

vi-kata What's a Dremel?

Looks fine to me, but beware that it's unmanaged, so you won't be able to do any 'nifty' stuff with it like creating VLANs or picking up SNMP stats from it. If all you're after is a simple switch for LAN parties, this would probably do the trick.

I'd recommend the AlliedTelesyn switches, but they're managed and consequently rather more expensive :)

Cheers
    Kata

3. ivan2740

Hrmmmm I'm not sure what a VLAN or SNMP stats are so I guess it should be ok;) I'll look into those a little before I purchase it though, Thx!!

4. dakar

dakar What's a Dremel?

Geez. your no fun... i'd have said something like a cisco 3524.... and at only 10X the price! :eeek: but the neat and wonderful things they can do!

seriously that other looks like a decent switch for light usage.

5. ivan2740

What exactly did you mean by light usage?=)

Last edited: 6 Jan 2003
  6. dakar

dakar What's a Dremel?