1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding Metal Thickness?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by LiL_MJ, 16 Oct 2007.

1. LiL_MJ

LiL_MJ What's a Dremel?

Hey guys,

Looking to purchase some sheets of metal (aluminium/steel). Thing is i have read somewhere that 1mm metal is very easy to score and bend, and 1mm/2mm is what most people use for modding. But at my local DIY store, the only sheets of Alu they have are either .5mm or .6mm!! which to me seems a little bit to thin for any mods? They have sheets of 1mm steel but then, i've read that steel would rust in some situations which is a bit of concern for me.

Sorry i am asking this because i have no experience in the thickness of metals. Would the .5mm/.6mm bend very easy?

Thankyou

2. ElThomsono

ElThomsono Multimodder

I just measured my case, and it's 0.8mm alu; as it's designed to be ultra light it's about as thin as I'd want, it flexes enough when you push on the side panel.

Personally I would want thicker than 0.6mm in alu, and would go for the 1mm steel.

3. LiL_MJ

LiL_MJ What's a Dremel?

Thanks for the reply mate! only thing about the steel is that it seems abit of bother to either give it a clear coat or some kind of treatment. I doubt that i will get condensation or some kinda moisture in my system, but then again i rather be safe.

i've did some research and have seen that somebody here has purchased sheets from homebase at 1mm thickness. Been to the website and no search results. I have a homebase nearby so will give them a try soon. :)

thanks

4. Teyber

Teyber ******

ill be stupid and post in SAE not metric

i usually get .04" for panels, .08" for thicker panels such as rear(holds mobo and mobo tray). this is aluminum btw.