1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Equipment Nikon D40x

Discussion in 'Photography, Art & Design' started by GreatOldOne, 15 Mar 2007.

1. GreatOldOne

GreatOldOne Wannabe Martian

Hi Guys,

I've been reading about the upgraded Nikon D40 (now with a 100% more X) - And as far as I can see it's probably on a par with the Canon 400D (more so that it's big brother the D80)

What's the opinion of the Photography High Council? Any good? I'm a bit of noob when it comes to DSLRs, so go easy on me.

Ta,

GOO

2. RTT

RTT #parp

I wouldn't buy the D40(x). As I understand it the D40x cannot auto focus a huge range of lenses since it doesn't have a focus motor in the body. It's worse than EF-S in that respect.

If the 350 quid price point is what you're after then get a 350D.

2p

3. Jamie

Jamie ex-Bit-Tech code junkie

Dirty Nikon!

4. RTT

RTT #parp

mind the troll XD

5. GreatOldOne

GreatOldOne Wannabe Martian

Eh? :confused:

Can I poke him with a pointy stick? ;)

6. unrealhippie

unrealhippie What's a Dremel?

Vote for the eyes :hehe:

7. mookboy

mookboy BRAAAAAAP

I bought the Canon 400D over the D40 simply because of the previously stated lens issue with the D40. I couldn't see myself having the cash to upgrade past the kit lens for a while.

8. olv

olv he's so bright

Can someone clear up the Nikon, autofocus motor issue for me as I don't really understand it.

Do only some nikon lenses have the auto focus motor built and and only some bodies have it built it? So a body with autofocus motor can autofocus any lens? and a body without it can only autofocus with lenses that have a motor?

9. mookboy

mookboy BRAAAAAAP