1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linux *nix permissions - I want write access but not delete

Discussion in 'Software' started by Tomm, 18 May 2008.

1. Tomm

Tomm I also ride trials :¬)

I've got a WD Mybookworld NAS fileserver which runs Linux, and it shares files to the rest of my network. So far everything is working fine - I have a public directory that everyone can see and access (I.e. rwxrwxrwx) and a backup directory that is only accessible by me (rwx------). However, it would be incredibly easy (for me or anyone on the network) to browse to the public share and delete the whole thing. No passwords would be required. Some stuff is backed up but not everything.

Basically I want everyone to be able to read and write to 'public' but I don't want me or anyone else to be able to delete anything (without entering a password). Possible?

N.B. I'm a linux noob so go easy :)

Last edited: 21 May 2008
  2. DougEdey

DougEdey I pwn all your storage

if you just want to make it readable by everyone except the owner, you just need to use chmod.

chmod go-w *

3. Fophillips

Fophillips What's a Dremel?

What you are looking for is the sticky bit. You need to do:
    Code:
    chmod +t file

4. Tomm

OK, thanks. That will presumably stop anyone other that me from deleting things. Say if I copy something to the drive with a 'guest' account, does that mean that anyone else with a guest account can also delete it? Or is there some way that linux identifies one guest over another?

But is there any way to prevent my own cack-handedness? I know it sounds stupid, but I could easily just press 'delete' on 'public' and wipe the 500Gb of stuff on it... And I really don't want to re-download that content AND spend another few days copying it over the network to the NAS.