1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PhD vs Masters

Discussion in 'Serious' started by Cabe6403, 30 Oct 2010.

1. Cabe6403

Cabe6403 Supreme Commander

I'm currently in my 4th year of a 5 year undergraduate masters degree at the University of Strathclyde. The course is an MEng in Computer & Electronic Systems

After this year I have 3 options (I plan on getting at least a masters)
    1. Continue onto my 5th year and get a masters
    2. Graduate with a BEng honours and go straight to a PhD program at Strathclyde or elsewhere
    3. Graduate with a BEng honours and apply to a masters program elsewhere

I worked in a research institution in Switzerland over summer and I really enjoyed being abroad so if I do apply for another graduate program I'd like to apply to some abroad.
    Specifically Zürich ETH and some in the US.

At the moment, with application deadlines around mid december for most places, I need to decide if I want to go for a PhD or a masters.

I'm interested in what people here think. Pros and cons etc.

2. Cabe6403

107 views and no one wants to comment =/

I'm not asking for an essay or anything. I'd especially like to hear from someone who has either got or is working on a PhD. What were the reasons that helped you decide?

3. adam_bagpuss

adam_bagpuss Have you tried turning it off/on ?

sorry dude cant help much dont have a masters or PhD. got a Hons degree though lol.

a lot of my friends went on to do masters at both the same uni or at another uni in the uk.
    i had several PhD friends and they came from other unis around the country too.

Id say it depends on if your good at your degree to jump straight to a PhD if you grab a 1st class honors then could be an option but if your looking at a 2:1 or 2:2 id say do a masters first to ease you in to that next level.

4. Fod

Fod what is the cheesecake?