1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Project: A Cramped LanBoy; Minor Update Jan 31st 2007

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Stuey, 7 Apr 2006.

1. Stuey

Stuey You will be defenestrated!

Hi. So this is my first attempt at a full-blown casemod. I got bored with my lanboy and decided to make it a learning testbed.

Goals:

1) Gain experience with painting a case.
    2) gain experience by implementing watercooling for the first time.
    3) Experiment with different lighting schemes for a subtle, snazy yet tactful look.
    Before (my apologies for the lousy photo):
    [​IMG]

I have a P4 system based around an Abit Max 3 mobo. I replaced the stock NB fan with a Silenx heatsink. As it is, there are green lights coming from the "OTES" fan shroud, blue lights coming from the replacement OTES fan I used from the Silenx NB kit, blue lights coming from the Silenx VGA cooler, and a red LED indicating mobo status. The front fan also has a not so subtle blue LED glare.

The ati 9800pro used to have a zalman heatpipe cooler, but that went into a HTPC, and the silenx cooler seems to get the job done.

The PSU is slightly sleeved, but it doesn't look good. I have issues with my heatshrink methods.

I decided to start by resleeving the PSU. Here you'll see UV red (although it is described better by saying UV orange), and some UV blue sleeving .
    Here's a before picture of the PSU.
    [​IMG]

The first thing I did was remove the old sleeving and I trimmed off the fan speed signal cable and the 6 pin aux connector which I've never used.

Everything was going great until I got to the 20 pin connector. I had to cannabalize a 350W PSU to retrieve 4 wires to patch up the mess I made. [​IMG]

Getting the PSU back together was a chore, and the exit area is messier than I hoped it would be. I have a plan to clean this up a bit, but I'm not sure if it will work.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]