1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Project - MFWCP(My First Water Cooling Pc) *56k*

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by modtheplanet, 17 Dec 2003.

1. modtheplanet

modtheplanet What's a Dremel?

Well this is my first project log, since i now have a digital camera i might as well post the pics and keep a log.

here it goes.

[​IMG]

This is pretty much the stock case and my 2 120 mm mechatronics fans. It will soon be completely transformed into my creation. It was the cheapest full tower case that I could find. Not bad for 45$ shipped. You can really tell how cheap it is once you start messing around with it, the steel is thin and can flex pretty good with little pressure. The case will be reinforced as needed. If I could do over again, I would buy a better case to start with, but being my first water cooled pc, I didn’t want to break the bank.

[​IMG]

Real men don’t use band-aids, they use black tape. You have to watch out for the sides of this case, they are pretty sharp! I found that out the hard way.

[​IMG]

This is the heater core, fedco 2-199. I purchased it for 18.88$ that is a lot cheaper than a “pc radiator”. This is a dual pass heater core, which means the piping is U shaped. That means extra cooling, which is what I am going for. The first problem I faced was how to mount this beast. After many cardboard cutouts and designs, I came up with this. I used parts from an old Steel Tec set that I had from when I was a kid. This provided me with many different sized pieces to choose from for my mounting.

[​IMG]

With my mounts all made up, I used some metal silicon that I had lying around to glue the bracing to the heater core. I just laded the mounts on the heater core and filled all the gaps with this stuff.

[​IMG]

Here is another shot of the silicon. This isn’t the nicest job, but will not be seen with the shroud in place.

[​IMG]