1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linux Quick Open Source OS question?

Discussion in 'Software' started by toyomatt84, 29 Jul 2004.

1. toyomatt84

toyomatt84 What's a Dremel?

I mean no disrespect, nor is there another thread of this topic to my knowledge.

I was wondering if there is a Linux candidate that supports all that Windows does. I was curious as to I am quite new to the Linux scene, but not to Open Source. I work with LiteStep, which has similar principles as Linux, just on a much smaller term. I have been extremely pleased with the adjustability and stability of Linux, as I have used it on friends computers, but I play a lot of PC games, and use a lot of Microsoft products (ie. Word, Excell, Access, Powerpoint) I also use Adobe Photoshop, but I hear Adobe can run on Linux systems. If there is any info. you guys/gals could post, I'd be much appreciative.

2. SeT

SeT What's a Dremel?

If you're really into games, you're better off sticking with Windows. There is Winex and it will run some games but from what I've seen, they never perform as well as when in Windows. The only distributor/maker that does Linux ports is Atari(neverwinter nights, unreal tournament...) MS Office can be made to run on Linux but there's another piece of software that you will have to buy to get it to run but I forget the name(not wine or winex.) If you don't want to pay, there is OpenOffice.Org and it is a decent office set that is compatable with MS office. I've never heard of anyone getting Photoshop completely working under Linux but there is a program called Gimp that has most, if not all, of the features of Photoshop.

3. kiwi_uk

kiwi_uk What's a Dremel?