1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ram gurus

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Immy, 9 Mar 2008.

1. Immy

Immy What's a Dremel?

I will be building a new system soon using the Asus Rampage Formula motherboard. From my understanding it has Native DDR2 1066 Support, so i'm looking at purchasing some Corsair TWIN2X2048-8500C5DF ram. It's rated at 1066MHz so im presuming so far that these 2 components will run well together (someone correct me if i'm wrong i'm no expert).

There is also TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF pair of ram modules here is my dilemma. I want to run Xp pro and i know it wont register the full 4gb's but will it hinder the rams performance in anyway? I want to get the 4gb pair so i can future proof myself for when i install Vista one day. So will running the 4gb pair in xp hinder the performance of the ram?

2. mm vr

mm vr The cheesecake is a lie

The mobo and the RAM will run well together.

The RAM clocks are like this: 2x FSB clock = DDR RAM clock
    4x FSB clock = somekinda bus clock
    If you have a processor (and mobo) which support 1066MHz bus you need at least 533MHz RAM to run the system on 1:1 ratio. If you have a CPU and mobo that support 1600MHz bus then you need 800MHz RAM. The 1066MHZ RAM is good for overclocking as you can rise the FSB clock and keep the ratio at 1:1.

Hope that makes any sense... :eek:

No. It will just show up like you had only ~3,2GB RAM installed.

3. Immy

Immy What's a Dremel?

Thanks for the info... So because the cpu/mobo/ram are all rated at 1066MHz it should all be running at 1:1 ratio? I intend to run everything at stock i'm not game enough to go into the bios and change voltages and settings so i want to build a system that has great performance from the get go.

4. mm vr

mm vr The cheesecake is a lie