1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress "RAT" look PC case mod.

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by mellink, 7 Apr 2012.

1. mellink

mellink What's a Dremel?

Hi all,
    Firstly welcome to this project log. It's my first that I've published, but this mod is not my first.
    Secondly, apologies for my AWFUL spelling.

Now moving on,

What is "RAT" look. In the aircooled VW circle the "RAT" look has become very popular. The idea being to have a perfectly working, restored car, that looks like a utter wreck. So that means exterior rust etc.

As I am now a university student my pc must be a little portable. My current case is a ZALMAN GS-1000 for anyone who doesn't know the case it's HUGE. Brilliant case, the only fault for me is the size. If I don't bring my pc back with my during holidays I get grief from a couple of the guys. If I do bring it back I get grief from the parents due to it taking up allot of car space.

So why not combine the love of VW's with the love of PC's? Hence RAT look. I did a quick Google and found one RAT look PC.

Now exam period is coming up in next 4 weeks (2weeks revision, 2 weeks exams) and straight after that I will be buying (if released) the new processor from the Ivy Bridge family along with motherboard, RAM, SSD etc etc. Call it a little present to myself for all the hard work i'm going to do....

Mostly I play BF3, F1 2011, Dirt, Sup com etc etc Good fun games with mates.

Now is probably a good time to say that i'm studying mechanical engineering and spend most of my day sitting in front of a PC with CAD (solidworks open or excel etc etc). And while normally I'd be happy to plan every section of the case this way, I've taken a more relaxed method by doing ad-hoc planning. So, as I go along ill be drawing the plans out for sections, not doing entire case design.

Project aims :
    1) a small PC (not tiny though)
    2) quiet