1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding Red Black PSU Mod -- April 6 -- help?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by TheRedJew, 7 Apr 2008.

1. TheRedJew

TheRedJew What's a Dremel?

This is my first attempt at a psu mod and i like the results. I cut the whole for the window and put a, what they call red,
    piece of plastic behind it and put in a red fan then painted the case flat black. I was putting it back together and ran into
    a problem that i had been trying to ignore the whole time :worried: . The plastic i had installed turned out to be too wide and rubbed against the
    heatsinks not letting me put the top back on :jawdrop:

I need help with this one, im wondering if i can just chop off the top of the heatsinks and if so what tool i should use :dremel: ?
    I have a jigsaw, dremel, and thatz really it i could think of that would cut the alu. Dont really know how i would use the jigsaw but maybe
    someone can help.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Rocket733

Rocket733 Austerity - It's the only way

Eh you don´t really want to go about cutting heatsinks off your powersupply. They´re the size they are for a reason and if you take some of the metal away your psu might just overheat under a sustained heavy load. The best plan is to find a way to find your window in without having to modify the heatsinks.

3. Oreon_237

Oreon_237 CHEA BRO!

Is there a way you can make the PCB any lower? or the red plexi/ plastic any thinner. I wouldn't recommend cutting the heatsink/s unless you know that they don't heat up very much under load (which isn't common in PSU's)

4. CobraMods

CobraMods Gettin there slowly

how thick is the piece of plexi you are using?

5. TheRedJew

yeah i dont know much about the temps in this power supply used for server only its just a POS i had around and modding it for a test..not that i dont want to use it anymore.