1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics (renamed thread) HELP! lOOK AT MY WORK, WILL IT EXPLODE?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Teyber, 3 Jul 2007.

1. Teyber

Teyber ******

Alrighty, in my project log which is in my sig, i wan't to solder some LEDS but im 15 yeras old and know hardly anything about electricity(really like nothing)
    SO i foudn a good webisht, http://shop.sickmods.net/shop/Resistors/1.4_Watt/ but im still confused. So what do i need besides the LED? the resistor, wire, anything else? and how can i give it power without doing any sever mods to my 330$ psu? or do i have to get a cheapo- second psu? and if i do that, how do i go about having my power switch turn on both psu's?

thanks for help, and guys i mean im a total noob anything, ANYTHING i should know would be appreciated

Last edited: 10 Jul 2007
  2. const_

const_ What's a Dremel?

3. Teyber

Teyber ******

thanks, but then how do i connect 2 psu's to one power switch?

4. Navig

Navig What's a Dremel?

How about some basics about LEDs:

linear 1 led center.

Everybody uses a LED calculator, so use the wizard.

Next some basics about electronics. Most computer LED modding is going to require 1/2w resistors, so spend the extra few pennies.
    Next you have your elements (LED, resistor, etc), you need a way to connect them. Best method: soldering wires between them (or you could use bread boards, but they're a little inconvenient to mount).