1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Self Employed - what happens if I can't complete a job?

Discussion in 'Serious' started by gcwebbyuk, 7 Jul 2013.

1. gcwebbyuk

gcwebbyuk Dib Dabbler

I am a self employed IT consultant / programmer. I became self employed as my health was preventing me from working full time. It has been good so far, with a steady and manageable stream of work (nearly 3 years now).

It is always in the back of my mind that at some point I might not be able to complete work, especially programming. Where do I stand legally if I get to a point where this is the case? I have Business Insurance (Public and Products Liability, Professional Indemnity, Business Equipment and Goods in Transit). I do not have contracts with my clients (other than verbal).

So if I am unable to complete work due to health, is it up to me (legally) to find a replacement, or act as a middle man between myself, the replacement and the customer? Or as there is no written contract, is up to the customer to find a suitable replacement?

Any help would be appreciated :thumb:

2. RedFlames

RedFlames ...is not a Belgian football team

*facepalm*

I'm not sure where you legally stand, however this is why you must a contract when doing work for someone... It sets in stone what they expect from you [and when], and what they expect from you... it also covers both parties if either doesn't live up to their end of the deal [I.e. they don't pay up or you don't complete the job]...

Last edited: 7 Jul 2013
  3. longweight

longweight Possibly Longbeard.

Verbal contracts?

Good luck with that.

4. gcwebbyuk

gcwebbyuk Dib Dabbler

I agree with both of you about contracts/verbal contracts. The issue here is not with getting paid etc, as I invoice monthly on work carried out that month, it's more a case of moving forward what happens if my health gets worse and I have to give up a project without completing it.