1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Development SEO Help.

Discussion in 'Software' started by BentAnat, 20 Apr 2009.

1. BentAnat

BentAnat Software Dev

OK... i've asked similar things here before, and was pointed int eh right direction (thanks, Firehed). Since then, i've grown, i've learned. I'm stumped again.
    I've got a client (www.cars.com.na) that is trying to bring his conversions up.
    We did major improvements to the site already, approximately 10-folding his conversions. We did extensive tracking on usage (using google analytics and other tools) to find layouts that work, click patterns, etc.
    Now we're getting to SEO.
    I am still new in the field of SEO, but i'v ehad my bit of success. I've already made vast improvements over older versions of the site, etc.
    The issue i'm having is the following:
    The primary competitor is a spammer. There's no nice way of putting this. The inbound links he gets to his own site as well as to his clients' sites are from pharmaceuticals sites, MP3 sites, etc, often in a site-wide footer.
    I've run IP lookups, etc on him, and i know for a fact that the servers he's running on are registered to a person affiliated with (for starters) a certain MyCanadianPharmacy.
    All of this leads me to a difficulty. Trying to play a very clean game here, i am having an extremely hard time finding people willing to link (especially in the motoring industry and in the area) are mostly Competitors. Especially those with authority (wheels24 South africa, for example).
    I am aware of the fact that on-site SEO could still be streamlined, and i am working on that. However, given that the inbound links that the competitor has outnumber my client's about 10:1, it's tough for me to make a recommendation that has any real impact, besides "Build links".